Six Falcons inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022


The athletic department inducted six Falcons as part of the Hall of Fame class of 2022 on Jan. 28.

The class includes two former UM standouts and four meritorious service selections with outstanding track and professional careers.

The 2022 nominees were Daniel Tankersley ’07 (baseball), Gary O’Neill ’14 (men’s soccer), Jim Dunaway ’88 (broadcaster), Matt Orton (track and field photography), Dr. Lewis Brooks ’88, M.Ed. ’99, ed.p. ’03 (men’s basketball) and Herman Watts ’70, M.Ed. ’72 (men’s basketball).

Tankersley had a stellar baseball career for the Falcons, playing in the 2006 and 2007 seasons. A Dothan native, he has a long list of outstanding athletic achievements, including 2010 GSC East Division All-Decade Baseball Team, 2007 Gulf South Conference East Division Player of the Year, 2006 First Team All-Gulf South Conference, 2007 First Team All-Gulf South Conference, 2007 NCAA Division II All-South Region and the 2007 Gulf South Conference All-Academic Team.

Tankersley’s name has been all over baseball’s record books, starting with third-most doubles in a single season (20 in 2007), third-most RBIs in a single season (70 in 2007), most sacrifice flies in a single season ( 13 in 2007). , third-most putouts in a single game (17 vs. Valdosta State/Northwest Missouri State in 2006), most putouts in a single season (502 in 2007), and third-most putouts in a career with 984 during 2006 and seasons 2007. Tankersley was a member of the 2006 Falcons baseball team that advanced to the National Championship Series.

Tankersley also distinguished himself with the Diamond, winning the 2007 Kinesiology Senior Elite, the 2007 Dean’s Trophy, and was named to the 2007 GSC All-Academic Team.

O’Neill was a defensive juggernaut on the court from 2010-13, assisting the Falcons in winning 55 games with 36 shutouts. In his senior year, he was named first-team All-Peach Belt Conference, second-team NSCAA Division II All-Southeast Region, and second-team Daktronics Division II All-Southeast Region, and started in 18 games.

O’Neill had four goals, one assist and two game-winning goals, including one in the semifinals of the Peach Belt Conference Tournament against Flagler. He was named to the Peach Belt Conference All-Tournament Team and served as captain of the Falcons.

In 2012, O’Neill was named the program’s Defensive Player of the Year, All-Peach Belt Conference first team, Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region first team, and NCAA National Soccer Coaches Association of America second team Division II All-appointed. Southeast region.

O’Neill started all 20 games he played in and finished his junior season with three goals and one assist. He finished with seven points and three shots on goal, scoring one goal each against UAH, Flagler and USC Aiken. As a sophomore in 2011, O’Neill appeared in and started all 21 games.

He was named Second Team All-PBC, Preseason All-PBC, and PBC Defensive Player of the Week. He helped the Falcons rack up 11 shutouts throughout the season. O’Neill arrived at Montevallo in the fall of 2010 and appeared in 21 games, starting in each one.

Dunaway is the host of the popular podcast The Next Round (TNR). Prior to TNR, Dunaway hosted The Roundtable radio show on WJOX Radio in Birmingham for many years. Dunaway has received two Southern Regional Emmy Awards for Producer/Reporter at WVTM NBC 13 Birmingham and Associated Press Awards for Alabama Sportscaster of the Year at WIAT CBS 42 in Birmingham. He also received multiple Alabama Broadcasters Association Awards for his work at WIAT CBS 42 and WJOX Radio, and multiple Alabama Sportscaster of the Year Awards from the National Sports Media Association.


Comments are closed.