Hoosier darling #24? Picking your favorite Indiana basketball players one number at a time


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Welcome back to our summer series where Hoosier basketball fans can vote for their favorite Indiana players who will ever wear each number. Today we continue all the best to wear number 24.

Hoosier favorite?

Every day we give you four choices along with a brief player bio to choose your favorite Hoosier wearing a specific number.

Here are your four choices for the No. 24 jersey in alphabetical order so we don’t show any bias. Be sure to take the poll below via Twitter.

(Editor’s note: We’ll take the results of the survey for 48 hours and then share the results in this story the next day, so keep checking back to see the results.)

Steve Ahlfeld (1972-75)

Guard Steve Ahlfeld of Wabash, Indiana played in 64 games for the Hoosiers, shooting 44.6 percent from the field and 63.9 percent from the free throw line.

One of former head coach Bob Knight’s first recruits, Ahlfeld made two appearances in NCAA tournaments, including a Final Four run in 1973 and an Elite Eight finish in 1975.

Ahlfeld and the Hoosiers won the Big Ten regular-season championship, 76-12, in all three seasons of Ahlfeld’s collegiate basketball career.

Steve Ahfeld

Michael Lewis (1996-00)

Jasper, Indiana native Michael Lewis played 3,163 minutes for the Hoosiers, averaging 887 points and 545 total assists, ranking second all-time in program history behind Yogi Ferrell’s 633.

The guard was a part of four NCAA tournament appearances, two first-round trips and two second-round carries during his Hoosiers career.

After Indiana, Lewis had a brief professional career before joining Texas Tech to serve as an assistant coach under Knight. Lewis has had several other coaching stints at Stephen F. Austin State University, Eastern Illinois, Butler, Nebraska, UCLA and now Ball State.

As of 2022, Lewis is the head coach of the Cardinals basketball team, working with former Hoosier Jamal Meeks, who is an assistant coach.

Michael Lewis

Michael Lewis

Daryl Thomas (1983-87)

Daryl Thomas of Westchester, Illinois, made his mark with the Hoosiers as the 49th all-time leading scorer with 1,095 points in four seasons and 106 games played.

Scroll to Next

The forward/center was a member of three of Hoosier’s NCAA tournament teams, best known for the 1987 NCAA championship team, which he took on as co-captain. Indiana defeated Syracuse by one point for the Hoosiers’ fifth NCAA title and Coach Bob Knight’s third with Indiana.

After college, Thomas was selected by the Sacramento Kings as the 120th overall pick in the 1987 NBA draft. He didn’t make the team and instead played 13 seasons abroad.

Thomas later coached basketball at Montini Catholic High School near Chicago. In March 2018, Thomas tragically died of a heart attack.

After Thomas died Knight thought on Thomas’ unselfish way of playing.

“Ever since that championship game in 1987, I’ve always referred to that as the greatest single game I’ve ever had a kid do: give up the ball and line up the screen that opened up the man for the shot that won a national championship.”

Daryl Thomas

Daryl Thomas

Randy Wittman (1978-83)

A native of Indianapolis, Indiana, Randy Wittman ranks 16th on Indiana’s all-time leading scorer list with 1,549 points. He also had 405 rebounds, 309 assists and 128 steals.

Wittman made four NCAA tournament appearances, including the 1981 NCAA title game where Indiana defeated North Carolina 63-50 to win his fourth title and Coach Bob Knight’s second with the Hoosiers.

At halftime, the Hoosiers were trailing until Wittman hit a corner shot on the halftime buzzer to set the tone for the second half.

In 1983, Wittman was named the Big Ten Player of the Year and a second-team All-American after running the Hoosiers’ Sweet 16.

Wittman was selected 22nd overall by the Washington Bullets in the 1983 NBA draft, but his rights were traded to the Atlanta Hawks. He later had a brief stint with the Sacramento Kings before becoming a fringe player with the Indiana Pacers.

Wittman wasn’t done with the game as he embarked on a long NBA coaching career with multiple teams including as head coach of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Minnesota Timberwolves and later the Washington Wizards.

Randy Wittman

Randy Wittman

All-time No. 24 in Indiana

Here are all the players who wore the #24 in Indiana:

  • Vijay Blackmon — (2017-19)
  • Grant Gelon — (2016-17)
  • Jackson Tharp — (2015-16)
  • Jeff Howard — (2010-14)
  • Steven Gamble — (2008-10)
  • Brandon McGee — (2007-08)
  • Robert Vaden — (2004-06)
  • Michael Lewis — (1996-00)
  • Matt Nover — (1989-93)
  • Daryl Thomas — (1983-87)
  • Randy Wittman — (1978-83)
  • Steve Ahfeld — (1972-75)
  • David Shepherd — (1971-72)
  • Kim Pemberton — (1970-72)
  • KenMorgan — (1968-71)
  • Bobby Kent — (1967-68)
  • Vern Pfaff — (1963-67)
  • RayPavy — (1960-61)
  • Herbie Lee — (1958-60)
  • beam ball — (1955-58)
  • Sherrill Marginet — (1953-54)
  • Jack Wright — (1952-53)
  • John Wood — (1951-52, 1954-55)
  • Tyrie Robbins — (1949-51)
  • Ted Kaufman — (1948-49)
  • Byyard Hey — (1947-49)
  • Zygmund Belsowski — (1944-45)
  • Herod Toon — (1943-44)
  • Cliff Forsyth — (1940-41)
  • John Torphy — (1939-40)
  • Mr Shepherd — (1938-41)
  • WilliamJohnson — (1938-39)

Vote for your #24 favorite on Twitter

Each number lets you vote for your favorite player on Twitter. Here is the link to today’s poll for #24.


Comments are closed.